This article is not applicable to Cloud versions.
When publishing content, one or more glossaries, and one or more websites in a batch operation, the following processing order is followed:
- All files in the specified inbox are read.
- If the inbox contains a glossary, definitions are updated in content and new terms are retrieved (provided these options are enabled in the Batch Publish... window). This step is repeated for each glossary selected to be published.
- Documents and courses are published. Only updated content is published if Express Publish is selected.
- If the inbox contains a website, the website is updated and published. This step is repeated for each website selected to be published.
- Select File > Publish > Batch Publish....
- Select the appropriate checkboxes to the left of the desired template, content types and for\-mats, website, and glossary.
- Optionally, browse to specify an inbox other than the default.
- Optionally, browse to specify an outbox other than the default.
- Perform one or more of the following options: If You Want To Then Publish only files that have changed since the last publish operation Select the Express Publish checkbox. When this option is enabled, the application scans the inbox folder to determine which documents and courses have been modified since the last publish operation. The application then includes only these changed files in the list of content to be published to the outbox folder. Update the definitions in documents prior to publishing documents Select the Update terms definitions before publishing documents checkbox. If you are publishing many documents, updating terms may substantially increase the time necessary to complete the publish process. Automatically add new terms found in documents to the current glossary while updating the document definitions Select the Retrieve new terms from documents checkbox. This option is only enabled if the option to update term definitions is enabled. If you are publishing many documents, updating terms may substantially increase the time necessary to complete the publish process.
- Click Publish to publish the selected content.
When publishing is complete, a summary message is displayed with hyperlinks to successfully published content.