In uPerform, translated content is linked to other content via a binder. A binder contains the original document and all subsequent translations. Translated content may be either uPerform content or managed documents. Translated uPerform content may be linked to other uPerform content via a Save As operation or by creating new content in another language.
For example, your US team may have content that must be slightly modified to reflect the business process in your UK office. You can save the US content to create translated UK content and then incorporate the process and language edits required. In addition, another author can create new French content and check this new document into the same binder as long as French content does not already exist. When the original US content is changed, both the author of the UK translated content and the French content will receive notification of the change and can then review the translated content to potentially incorporate changes. In addition, you can enable and disable a translation for display on the Learning Library end user website.
When you check a translated document into the Server, you are automatically subscribed to the translation. When changes are made to the original document from which the translation was made, you will receive a notification via email and a posting on your personal page.
Related content is uPerform content that is associated with other uPerform content within the same project on the Server. Related content does not share properties with other content but rather allows you to identify content with similar characteristics for display on your Learning Library end user website. For example, within the "Acme Corp" project, you can have a "Sales Team" folder that contains a document for filling out a timesheet. In that same project, you can have a "Sales Clerk" folder. Some of the codes in the "Sales Team" document could be relevant to the "Sales Clerk." You can relate this document from the "Sales Team" folder to content in the "Sales Clerk" folder. When you do this, the "Sales Team" document takes on the website context of the "Sales Clerk" document. If the relationship is broken, the context for the "Sales Team" document is lost.