The Editor and Server can be upgraded to a later version; however, the Editor and the Server must be upgraded at the same time so that both are using the same version.
For the Editor, the upgrade is designed to allow you to install a new version 'on top' of your current version. Auto-Update enables you to automatically update the Editor each time it is launched and connected to the Server, based on the Server version.
For complete details on upgrading the Server, refer to Upgrading An Existing Server in the companion manual, Administration. Refer to the Release Notes and Technical Specifications prior to upgrading.
Upgrading Content and Templates
Your content and custom templates are automatically upgraded during the following activities:
- Content is upgraded when it is opened for editing and when the content is globalized as part of glossary processing. During the glossary update, the upgraded content is saved and a version update is applied when the glossary process checks the content into the Server.
- Content and templates are temporarily upgraded during publishing. The temporary upgrades are deleted upon completion of publishing.
- Existing templates are upgraded and placed in the current version's Documents and Settings or Users folder the first time the Editor is launched. Templates from the Server are upgraded after being downloaded to the author's computer when a document that uses the template is opened.
Your administrator must upload upgraded templates to the Server.
To take advantage of template features in the latest version, you must create new content with the most current standard author template; new template features are not available in upgraded documents.